
CASE # 1 : 
A2 is fouled and is awarded 2 free throws. After the foul has been recorded, the Lead official places the ball at the disposal of 
the free thrower by bouncing the ball to A2. The horn then sounds requesting a time-out for Team B. The Trail official reacts to 
the horn and blows his whistle. 
QUESTION : 
Shall Team B be granted the time-out ? 
ANSWER : 
Whereas the opportunity for a time-out ended when the ball was at the disposal of the free thrower, the time-out shall not be 
granted, regardless of the official blowing his/her whistle. The official shall retrieve the ball and re-administer the free throw. 
The time-out may be granted if the final free-throw is successful or is to be followed by a throw-in. 
REFERENCE : 
Articles 18.2.3 and 18.2.4 
 
CASE # 2 : 
A5 scores a field goal when the horn sounds to indicate a time-out has been requested. The official reacts to the horn and blows 
his/her whistle. It is then discovered that Team A had requested the time-out. 
QUESTION : 
Shall the time-out be granted ? 
ANSWER : 
Although the official interrupted the game by blowing the whistle, the time-out shall not be granted because this is not a time 
out opportunity by rule. 
If at this point Team B requests a substitution or time-out, then the Team A time-out request can be granted after the Team B 
request is fulfilled. 
REFERENCE : 
Article 18.2.8 
 
CASE # 3 :  
A2 scores a 3 point field goal with 35 seconds remaining in the extra quarter. The Timer correctly stops the game clock and then 
incorrectly blows the horn to indicate that substitute A10 wishes to enter the game. The official sounds his whistle and 
interrupts the game. At this time, the officials are informed that A10 wishes to enter the game. 
QUESTION : 
Shall A10 be permitted to enter the game ? 
ANSWER : 
The request by substitute A10 shall not be granted even though the official had sounded his whistle and interrupted the game. 
The new Trail shall retrieve the ball and administer a throw-in to Team B anywhere on Team B’s end line. 
REFERENCE : 
Article 19.2.5 
 
CASE # 4 : 
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting just as the first period ends. The officials determine that the foul occurred just prior to the 
horn sounding but ruled that the quarter had ended. A1 is awarded 2 free throws with no players being permitted to occupy any 
lane space. Prior to A1 receiving the ball for the first of two free throws, the horn sounds to indicate that Team B has requested 
a time out. 
QUESTION ? 
Shall Team B be granted a time-out ? 
ANSWER : 
When the horn sounded to end the first quarter, “Playing Time” had concluded and an “Interval of Play “ had begun. The request 
for the time-out shall be denied, because time-outs can only be granted during Playing Time. A1 shall immediately be granted his 
two free throws. Following the completion of the free throws, the Timer shall start the two minute Interval break. 
REFERENCE : 
Article 18/19-1 
 


