CASE # 1:

A3’s final free throw is released and the try is successful. The horn then sounds to indicate that substitutes A9 and A10
wish to enter the game.

QUESTION:

Shall the subs be permitted to enter the game at this time?

ANSWER:

Following any successful final free throw, either team shall be permitted to substitute ( or be granted a time-out. )
REFERENCE:

Articles: 18.2.2; 18.2.3; 19.2.1 and 19.2.2

CASE # 2:

A5 is fouled in the act of shooting and while the ball is in the air, the horn sounds to end the quarter. The try is
successful and A5 is awarded 1 free throw. Prior to the free throw, Team B requests a time-out.

QUESTION:

Shall the time-out request be granted?

ANSWER:

No. A time- out cannot be granted after the horn has sounded to end a quarter or overtime.

REFERENCE:

Articles: 18.2.2 and 18.2.3

CASE # 3:

In the 3" quarter, A5 is holding the ball for a backcourt AP arrow throw-in, when B1 is assessed a personal foul for
holding A4 in Team A’s frontcourt. The foul is B’s 3™ in the quarter and the infraction is ruled a common foul.
QUESTION:

How shall play be resumed?

ANSWER.

Team A shall be awarded a throw-in in Team A’s frontcourt at the spot nearest to where B1 committed the foul. The
shot clock remains at 24. (RE Team A back court throw-in.) The shot clock remains at 24 since this is what it was set at
when B1 committed the common foul and Team A already had “team control” as a result of the throw-in that was not
completed and therefore the AP arrow shall remain in Team A”’s favor.

REFERENCE:
Articles: 12.5.6; 29.2.1and 50.2

CASE # 4.

On the opening jump ball, jumper Al taps the ball toward Team A’s backcourt. A3 jumps and immediately taps the ball
toward Team A’s frontcourt. A4 then jumps from Team A’s frontcourt, controls the ball while airborne and lands with
one foot in the frontcourt and one foot in the backcourt. A4 then passes the ball to A2 who is in Team A’s backcourt.
QUESTION:

Is this a legal play?

ANSWER:

A4’s gaining control of the ball while airborne is a new team control for Team A and therefore A4 is permitted to land
with one or both feet in Team A’s backcourt. Because the ball does not have frontcourt status, A4’s pass to A2 is legal.
When A4 gains control of the ball, the shot clock shall start and the AP arrow shall be set toward Team B’s basket. When
A4 lands with one foot in Team A’s backcourt, the backcourt count shall begin.

REFERENCES:

Articles: 28.1.1; 29.1.1; 30.1.2 and 50.1



