CASE#1:

Al is dribbling the ball in Team A’s frontcourt with the shot clock at 8 seconds, when the official stops the game because of an
injury to A2. Substitute A1l reports and enters the game to replace A2.

QUESTION :

Upon resuming play shall the shot clock be reset to 14 seconds ?

ANSWER :

After the replacement of A2, the game shall resume with a Team A throw-in at the spot nearest to where Al was in control of
the ball. The shot-clock shall remain at 8 seconds.

REFERENCE :

Article 50.2

CASE#2:

A4 is at the free throw line to attempt one free throw. A4’s attempt hits the ring and while the ball is on the ring : (a ) Al tips
the ball into the basket or ( b ) B1 taps the ball off the ring.

QUESTION :

Are the actions in these two scenarios legal and/or illegal ?

ANSWER :

In both (a), and ( b ) the player’s action is legal. In ( a ) Team A would be awarded 2 points. In (b ) no violation has been
committed by B1.

Rationale : Once the ball strikes the ring on the final free- throw, the free throw , by rule, has ended.

REFERENCE :

Articles : 31.2.1; 31.2.2 and 31.2.3

CASE #3:

Al’s 2 point attempt is released and then the try is legally blocked by B5. While attempting to recover the loose ball, A2 fouls B2.
The foul is Team A’s : ( a ) 4™ of the quarter or ( b ) 5% of the quarter.

QUESTION :

Shall A2 be charged with a team control foul and how shall the ball be returned to playin(a)and(b)?

ANSWER :

When a ball is released on a try for goal, team control has ended. In ( a JTeam B shall be awarded a throw-in, out of bounds, at
the nearest spot to the foul, except under the backboard. In ( b ) B2 shall be awarded 2 free throws.

REFERENCE :

Articles : 14.1.2; 41.1.1and 41.2.1

CASE #4 .

A3 while in the backcourt, attempts a pass to A4 but the ball strikes B3 who is straddling the center line. The ball then bounces
back to A3, who is still in the back court. When the ball hit B3, the back court count was at 6 seconds.

QUESTION :

When A3 recovers the deflected ball in the back court shall A3 have 2 seconds to get the ball into the front court ?

ANSWER :

When the ball strikes B3, who has one foot in the front court, the 8 second back court count has ended. When the ball is then
controlled by A3, a new back court 8 second count shall begin. However the 24 second shot clock shall continue to run and not
be reset.

REFERENCE :

Articles 28.1.2 and 50.1



