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NATIONAL RULE EXAM

This year, the national rule exam will again be administered on-line. The subject was discussed at the 
AGM and everything will be done to avoid the few glitches that occurred last year. Some of the problems 
arose from incorrect information on the provincial lists. The name of each member must be provided with 
the correct spelling and the member must register for the exam with his/her name spelled exactly the 
same as what appears on the list. Just as last year, our webmaster, Matthew Koivisto, will manage the 
whole process. Lists of members should be sent by the provincial supervisors to Markku Peuhkurinen,  
Secretary-Treasurer of CABO. He will coordinate the sending of membership lists with our webmaster. 
The exam will have 50 questions to be answered by “Yes” or “No”.  All  candidates will answer same 
questions. Only the order of the questions will be modified for each candidate. Last year,  25% of the 
candidates wrote the exam on the last day. Members are urged to not wait for the last minute if at all  
possible.

At the AGM, there was a consensus to reduce the time period in which to write the exam as well as the 
time allotted to complete the task. The exam shall be available on line from November 15 to December 15. 
There will be a time limit of 75 minutes. 



CASEBOOK UPDATE

The  casebook  was updated  as  of  October  16,  2012.  The  updated version  is  available  on  the  CABO 
website. The following two cases were amended from the last update of September 9, 2012. The changes 
are highlighted in yellow:

31-4 A3 is awarded 2 free throws. The first free throw is bouncing on the rim and still has a chance to 
enter the basket when B5 slaps the ball away from the rim. The official counts the free throw. 
Should the official also assess a technical foul to B5?  
No. The technical foul as a penalty applies only for goaltending on a last or only free throw.

38-9 During the 1st half, Team A has been officially warned about unduly delaying the breaking of their 
huddle at the end of time-outs. In the 2nd half, Team A again delays the breaking of the huddle. 
Should an additional time-out be charged to Team A?  
Yes. If no time-out is available, a technical foul may be assessed to Coach A.

FIBA RULE REFRESHER EXAM FOR 2012
(Answers appear at the end of the newsletter)

1. While  A1  is  holding  the  ball  for  an  alternating  possession  throw-in,  a  double  foul  is 
committed. The official charges the fouls and awards a throw-in to Team A. A2 completes the 
throw-in to A3. Shall the possession arrow still favour Team A?

2. A-1 fumbles the ball  while attempting to end a dribble. While the ball is loose A2 and B2 
commit a double foul. Shall play resume with a Team A throw-in?

3. Free throw shooter A2 and B3 who is occupying the first rebound space, both violate on the 
last free throw. The free throw is successful. Should the  official rule that a jump ball situation 
has occurred?

4. B5 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A5. Coach A is assessed a technical foul and then 
Coach B is also assessed a technical foul. Shall the penalties for the technical fouls cancel 
each other?

5. B1 has established a legal guarding position on A1. A1 jumps in the air, releases the ball on a 
try for goal and collides with B1 before returning to the floor. The official calls a foul on A1. 



This is Team A’s 5th foul of the quarter. Shall B1 be awarded 2 free throws as a result of A1’s 
foul?

6. A1  releases  a  try  for  goal  from the 3-point  area.  B2  jumps from Team A's  2-point  area, 
deflects the ball while in its upward flight and then the ball enters the basket. Should the 
scorer credit A1 with 3 points?

7. A1 releases the ball on a try for goal. While the ball is in the air the 24 second clock sounds. 
B2 then fouls A4. The ball misses the ring.  This is Team B's 3rd foul of the period. Shall a 
throw-in be awarded to Team A?

8. A5 is dribbling the ball in Team A's frontcourt. B3 deflects the ball into Team A’s backcourt. 
In the backcourt, A4 then taps the ball to A3 who is also in the backcourt. The official began 
an 8 second count when A4 tapped the ball. Was the official correct?

9. During the initial jump ball, jumper A1 taps the ball directly out-of-bounds. B1's throw-in is 
then grabbed simultaneously by A3 and B3 and a held ball  is called.  Shall  a  throw-in be 
awarded to Team A according to the alternating possession? 

10. The 24-second signal sounds just after A3 releases a try for goal. The ball lodges between the 
ring and the backboard. Is the referee correct in ruling a 24 second violation?

11. A2 releases the ball on a try for goal.  While the ball is on its upward flight, and partly below 
the level of the ring, it touches the backboard and is immediately touched by B4.  Has B4 
committed goaltending?

12. With four (4) seconds left on the twenty-four (24) second clock, A4 attempts a shot for a field 
goal. The ball misses the ring but the twenty-four (24) second operator erroneously resets the 
clock. A5 secures the rebound and after a certain time team A scores a field goal. At this time 
the officials are made aware of the situation and the game is interrupted. Shall the basket by 
A5 count? 

13. While play is in progress, head coach A is sitting on the bench. May assistant coach A remain 
standing?

14. With 1:34 to play in the  fourth period, A4 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt  with six (6) 
seconds  remaining  on  the  twenty-four  (24)  second  clock  when  B4  commits  an 
unsportsmanlike foul. A time-out is now granted to coach A. After the free throws, shall the 



throw-in be taken at the throw-in line in Team A's frontcourt with 14 seconds showing on the 
24-second shot clock?

15. A1 releases a shot for a field goal. While the ball is in the air with 10 seconds remaining on 
the twenty-four (24) second clock, a defensive foul is called against B2 who fouls A4. It is 
team B's 2nd foul in the period. The ball  enters the basket. The official counts the basket and 
awards a throw-in to Team A at the point closest to where the foul occurred, with fourteen 
(14) seconds remaining on the twenty-four (24) second clock. Is the official correct?

16.  A4 in his backcourt passes the ball towards his frontcourt. The ball is deflected from an 
official standing on the playing court with both feet straddling the centre line and is next 
touched by A5 who is still in his backcourt. Is this a violation for illegally returning the ball to 
the backcourt?

HAND, TOSS OR BOUNCE?
By Paul Deshaies

CABO National Interpreter

Over  the past  few years,  I  have  had the  opportunity  to  attend many national  championships  and to 
observe  officials  from  all  over  the  country.  In  particular,  last  spring  in  Halifax  at  the  CIS  Men's 
championship and this past August in Sherbrooke at the Canada Basketball 15U and 17U tournaments, I 
witnessed a large number of games. I  was very proud of the quality of officiating displayed at those 
events. And from the comments heard from the other national championships, I am confident that this 
value judgement can be generalized across the board. 

However, there is always room for improvement. Some aspects of the officials' performance obviously 
carry more importance than others. Calling balls and strikes correctly and making sure that the game 
runs  smoothly  remain  the  main  tasks  and  responsibilities  of  officials.  However,  striving  to  achieve 
perfection entails that one should pay attention to elements such as mechanics which, in the view of 
those who don't really care for developing their whole package to be great officials, may be considered 
trivial or unimportant. 

The purpose of mechanics is manifold. The appropriate use of the whistle and proper signals ensures 
clear and efficient communication not only with players, coaches and fans, but also with partners. Floor 
positioning and movement are geared at placing the officials in the best vantage points to see the action, 
allow the crew to cover all the players, and make correct decisions based on facts. Procedural guidelines 
are means to achieve efficiency in dead ball administration.  One aspect of the latter category is the way 
to put the ball  in play in throw-in situations.  It  surprised me to see the way that officials proceeded. 



Almost inevitably, regardless of circumstances, officials bounced the ball to the thrower-in. Many times, 
even if the player was right next to them, officials would take two or three steps from the player to create  
room for the bounce pass. The manual for two-person officiating states : « The official will hand, bounce 
pass or place the ball at the disposal of the player taking the throw-in... ». So there is a possible choice to 
be made. Now let's look at what the rules say. Article 17.2.1 reads as follows :

« An official must hand or place the ball at the disposal of the player taking the throw-in. He may  
also toss or bounce pass the ball provided that: 

• The official is no more than four (4) m from the player taking the throw-in. 
• The player taking the throw-in is at the correct place as designated by the official. » 

The rules clearly indicate a preference for the handing of the ball to the thrower-in by using the word 
« must ». The word « may » suggests that tossing or bounce passing should be the exception rather than 
the norm. The administering official normally goes to the throw-in spot, hands the ball to the thrower-in 
and starts a 5-second count. Only if handing the ball would put the administering official in a precarious 
position to referee, should the bounce pass be utilized. In 3-person officiating, one such situation comes 
to mind which would warrant bounce-passing the ball to the thrower-in :

Sideline throw-in deep in the frontcourt : 
Going deep toward the endline would put the T in a uneasy position. So T may bounce the ball 
from approximately the free throw-line extended (no more than 4 meters from the thrower-in) and 
then take a couple of steps back to assume T position while starting a 5-second count.

Therefore, the normal procedure to administer a throw-in is to hand the ball to the thrower-in and only 
when inconvenient or risky for the administering official should the toss or the bounce pass be utilized. 
This is the national norm and it should be followed across the country.



ANSWERS TO THE REFRESHER EXAM

1. ANSWER: YES. Article 12.5.6

2. ANSWER:  YES      Article 35.2; Article 14.1.3

3. ANSWER: NO. Article 43

4. ANSWER:  NO  Article 42.2.3

5. ANSWER: YES  Article 41.2.1  

6. ANSWER . NO  (Casebook 16-6, FIBA interpretation)

7. ANSWER  NO.  .  Article 29  Interpretations page 15, Statement 1, Example 3.

8. ANSWER  NO  Article: 28.1.1

9. ANSWER  NO. The team next entitled to the next possession has not yet been determined. New 
jump ball between A3 and B3. Interpretations page 4 Article 12 Statement 1.

10. ANSWER  YES  Article 50.2

11. ANSWER: NO. Article 31.2.1

12. ANSWER: The officials (after consulting with the commissioner, if present) shall confirm that the 
ball did not touch the ring on the shot for a goal by A4. They shall then decide if the ball left the 
hand(s) of A5 before the twenty-four second clock would have sounded if the reset had not taken 
place. If so, the basket shall count; if not, a twenty-four (24) second violation has occurred and the 
goal by A5 shall not count. FIBA Interpretations, Article 29, Statement 5, Example 3.

13. ANSWER: YES. Article 7.5.

14. ANSWER: NO.  FIBA Interpretations, Article 29, Statement 6, Example.

15. ANSWER: YES. FIBA Interpretations, Article 29, Statement 7, Example 1.

16. ANSWER: NO. FIBA Interpretations, Article 30, Statement 2, Example3.


