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3-pt area : line at 6,75
meters

Rectangular restricted
area (4,9 X5,8m)

No-charge semi-circle
(1,25m)

Throw-in line : at
sideline, 8,325 m from
endline, opposite
scorer’s table




EQUIPMENT

 Compression sleeves and stockings
permitted (same colour as shirt/shorts)



INTERVAL OF PLAY

e Ends when ball is tossed or ball at
disposal of thrower-in



INTERVAL OF PLAY

e Question 1:

— At the beginning of the game, the referee
enters the circle to administer the jump ball
between jumpers Al and B1. (a) Before the
ball is tossed by the referee, (b) after the ball
IS tossed, but before it Is legally tapped, (c)
after the ball is legally tapped, B2 pushes A2.
The official charges B2 with a personal foul. Is
this correct?

— Answer: No in (a); yes in (b) and (c).




STATUS OF THE BALL

* On the jump ball, live ball when ball leaves
hands of referee



LAST SECOND SHOT

 The game clock must indicate 0:00.3
(three tenths of a second) or more for a
player to secure control of the ball on a
throw-in or on a rebound after the last or
only free throw In order to attempt a shot
for a field goal.

* If the game clock indicates 0:00.2 or
0:00.1, the only type of a valid field goal
made Is by tapping or directly dunking the
ball.




LAST SECOND SHOT

e Question 2:
— With 0:00.2 second left on the

game clock, A2

secures control of Al’s throw-in pass and

releases a try for goal before t
sounds to end the period. Whi
the air, the buzzer sounds anc

ne buzzer
e the ball Is In

then the ball

enters the basket. Shall the basket count?

— Answer: No.



LAST SECOND SHOT

e Question 3:

— With 0:00.2 second left on the game clock, A2
taps Al’s throw-in pass toward the basket.
While the ball is in the air, the buzzer sounds
and then the ball enters the basket. Shall the
basket count?

— Answer: Yes.




LAST 2 MINUTES

e Team entitled to throw-in In backcourt
takes time out, throw-in at throw-in line In
Its frontcourt



LAST 2 MINUTES

e Question 4:

— With 1:45 left to play in the fourth period, B1
commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A1 who
IS dribbling the ball in Team A’s backcourt.
Team A Is granted a time-out. After the two
free throws awarded to Al, shall the Team A
throw-in be taken at mid-court, straddling the
line?

— Answer: No.




8-SECOND RULE

e Count starts as soon as any player
touches or is touched by the ball in the
backcourt and the team taking the throw-in
remains in control of the ball



8-SECOND RULE

e Question 5:

— Al’s throw-in pass from Team A’s back court
IS touched but not controlled by A2 and the
ball bounces freely on the floor. Shall the
official start an 8-second count immediately?

— Answer: Yes.




8-SECOND RULE

 Question 6:

— Al’s throw-in pass from Team A’s backcourt
IS deflected by B1 and the ball bounces freely
on the floor. Shall the official start an 8-
second count immediately?

— Answer: Yes.




8-SECOND RULE

e Question 7:

— Al’s throw-in pass from Team A’s backcourt
touches an official and the ball bounces freely
on the floor. Shall the official start an 8-
second count iImmediately?

— Answer: No.




BALL IN THE FRONT COURT

 The ball touches or is legally touched by
an offensive player who has both feet In
contact with his frontcourt



BALL IN THE FRONT COURT

 Question 8:

— Al who is straddling the mid-court line
receives a pass from A2 from Team A’s
backcourt. Al passes the ball back to A2 who
Is still in Team A’s backcourt. Is this legal?

— Answer: Yes.




BALL IN THE FRONT COURT

e Question 9:

— Al who is straddling the mid-court line
receives a pass from A2 from Team A’s
backcourt. Al pivots into Team A’s backcourt.
Is this a violation?

— Answer: No.




BALL IN THE FRONT COURT

e Question 10:

— Al who is straddling the mid-court line
receives a pass from A2 from Team A’s
backcourt. Al while still straddling the line
dribbles the ball. Is this legal?

— Answer: Yes.




BALL IN THE FRONT COURT

e Question 11:

— Al who is straddling the mid-court line
receives a pass from A2 from Team A’s
backcourt. Al then passes to A3 who Is also
straddling the mid-court line. Is this legal?

— Answer: Yes.




BALL IN THE FRONT COURT

e Question 12:

— Al who is straddling the mid-court line
receives a pass from A2 from Team A’s
backcourt. Al then passes to A3 who jumps
from Team A’s front court, catches Al’s pass
while airborne and lands straddling the mid-
court line. Is this a violation?

— Answer: Yes.




24-SECOND RULE

 On athrow-in, the shot clock starts as
soon as the ball touches or is touched by
any player on the playing surface and the
team taking the throw-in remains in control

of the ball.



24-SECOND RULE

e Question 13:

— After a Team B basket, Al’'s throw-in pass is
deflected by B1 and then deflected by A2.
While no player has gained control of the ball
on the court, should the 24-second device be
started?

— Answer: Yes.




24-SECOND RULE

If the game Is stopped by an official:

— For a foul or violation (not for the ball having gone out-
of-bounds) by the team not in control of the ball,

— For any valid reason by the team not in control of the
ball,

— For any valid reason not connected with either team,

e Possession of the ball shall be awarded to the
same team that previously had control of the
ball.



24-SECOND RULE (CONTINUED)

If the throw-in is administered in the backcourt, the
twenty-four (24) second clock shall be reset to twenty-
four (24) seconds.

— If the throw-in is administered in the frontcourt, the
twenty-four (24) second clock shall be reset as
follows:

If fourteen (14) seconds or more is displayed on the shot
clock at the time when the game was stopped, the shot
clock shall not be reset, but shall continue from the time
It was stopped.

If thirteen (13) seconds or less is displayed on the shot

clock at the time when the game was stopped, the shot
clock shall be reset to fourteen (14) seconds.



24-SEC

OND RULE (CONTINUED)

e Question 14:

— With 1:45 left to play in the fourth period, Al is
dribbling the ball in Team A’s backcourt for 5

seconc
ball wit
seconc

s when B1 deliberately deflects the
N his foot? The shot clock shows 19

s. Team A Is granted a time-out. When

play resumes with a Team A throw-in at the
throw-in line, shall the shot clock be reset to

247

— Answer: No.



24-SECOND RULE (CONTINUED)

e Question 15:

— Al is dribbling the ball in Team A’s frontcourt
when B1 fouls A1? The shot clock shows 18
seconds. When play resumes with a Team A
throw-in, shall the shot clock be reset to 247

— Answer: No.




24-SECOND RULE (CONTINUED)

e Question 16:

— Al is dribbling the ball in Team A’s frontcourt
when B1 deflects the ball which goes out of
bounds in Team A’s backcourt? The shot
clock shows 10 seconds. When play resumes

with a Team A throw-in, shall the shot clock
be reset to 247

— Answer: No.




24-SECOND RULE (CONTINUED)

Question 17:

— Al is dribbling the ball in Team A’s frontcourt
when play Is stopped because of an injury to
A2 The shot clock shows 10 seconds. When
play resumes with a Team A throw-in, shall
the shot clock be reset to 14?

— Answer: No.




24-SECOND RULE (CONTINUED)

e Question 18:

— Al is dribbling the ball in Team A’s backcourt
when B2 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on
A2. The shot clock shows 19 seconds. When
play resumes with a Team A throw-in
straddling the mid-court line after A2’s free
throws, shall the shot clock be reset to 24?

— Answer: Yes.




24-SECOND RULE (CONTINUED)

e Question 19:

— With Team A In control of the ball and 5
seconds left on the shot clock, A1 and B1 are
called for a double foul in Team B’s restricted
area? When play resumes with a Team A
throw-in In Team A’s front court , shall the
shot clock be reset to 147

— Answer: No.




NO-CHARGE SEMI-CIRCLE AREA

 The no-charge semi-circle areas are drawn on the
playing court for the purpose of designating a specific
area for the interpretation of charge/block situations
under the basket.

 On any penetration play situation into the no-charge
semi-circle area a contact caused by an offensive player
with a defensive player inside the no-charge semi-circle
shall not be called as an offensive foul, unless the
offensive player is illegally using his hands, arms, legs or
body, when

— the offensive player is in control of the ball whilst airborne,
and

— he attempts a shot or passes off, and the defensive player
has both feet inside the no-charge semi-circle area



UNSPORTSMANLIKE FOUL

e During the last two (2) minutes of the fourth
period and during the last two (2) minutes of
each extra period, the ball is out-of-bounds for a
throw-in and still in the hands of the official or
already at the disposal of the player taking the

throw-in. If at this moment a defensive player on

the playing court causes contact with a player of

the offensive team on the playing court and a

foul is called, it is an unsportsmanlike foul.




UNSPORTSMANLIKE FOUL

e Question 20:
— With 1:29 to play in the second period, the
ball is out-of-bounds at the disposal of Al for
a throw-in. At this moment, B2 causes
contact with A2 and a foul is called. Shall the
foul be judged unsportsmanlike?

— Answer: No.




